Data center profile · El Mirage, Maricopa County, Arizona

Compass PHX II (El Mirage)

Compass's three-building, 108 MW (press) campus on 121 acres in El Mirage, Arizona, with construction reported in the press for a 2027 opening; APS power arrangement unresolved.

Approved; construction reported by press only. Arizona Republic reported the campus under construction in June 2026, with an opening expected in 2027 (press). The city approved a site plan in 2023. Records show Compass still working out microgrid and service terms with APS in early 2024.
108 MW
planned capacity at buildout (press)
three buildings of 36 MW each; press figure, not from a city filing
121 acres
site
bought from Dermody Properties
$79.3M
land price (press)
from commercial real estate data reported by a business journal
2027
expected opening (press)
first phase not specified
OperatorCompass Datacenters
CustomerNot disclosed
Planned IT capacity86 MW at full build-out (our estimate from the company or utility power figure)
First building in serviceOur estimate: 2029 or later (no dated power path yet); company says 2027.
Next deadline2027: Expected opening (press); phase not specified
Power

Power and the grid

Sources on record, size not disclosed
Permits

Permits checklist

1 pending · 1 granted · 1 checked, nothing on file

Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found.

Risks

What could slow it down

Money

Money on record

$79.3M land purchase (press) (121 acres from Dermody Properties). News report · Oct. 2026

Land assembly

1 recorded land document for the campus company in county records (June 2024); 1 lists a price. Parcel counts come from the deed; acreage is not recorded.

Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. Dec. 13, 2022
    Permits A city review notes the request would not negatively affect Luke Air Force Base operations, subject to an FAA height analysis Local government · Dec. 2022
  2. Feb. 9, 2023
    Permits El Mirage City Council approves a site plan for the site Local government · Feb. 2023
  3. Jan. 9, 2024
    Permits Planning commission takes up a site plan extension; Compass asks for time until its matters with APS are resolved Local government · Jan. 2024
  4. Jan. 9, 2024
    Power Compass and APS are working on contract language and design for a microgrid that may change the site design Local government · Jan. 2024
  5. June 4, 2024
    Money Land purchase recorded at $79.3M: DPML Copperwing Landco II LLC to Compass Datacenters PHX II I LLC (1 parcel) County deed records · June 2024
  6. June 4, 2026
    Construction Arizona Republic reports three data center buildings under way on the site (press); no permit or imagery confirms it News report · June 2026
  7. June 16, 2026
    Money City council approves a contract for a YMCA shade structure that Compass committed more than $110,500 to fund (press) News report · June 2026
  8. 2027
    Construction Expected opening (press) News report · June 2026
The buildings

Specs

3 buildings about 208,000 sq ft each, single-story (press). News report · Oct. 2026

Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Developer and owner
  • Compass Datacenters: buyer and developer
  • Dermody Properties: sold the land (press)
Decision-makers
  • El Mirage City Council: approved the site plan in 2023
  • El Mirage Planning and Zoning Commission: site plan extension
  • Arizona Public Service (APS): serving utility
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

64 records from 18 documents

Drawn from news reports, securities filings, local government records, utility regulator dockets, public and commercial datasets, company statements and state agency records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 9SEC filing 3Local government 2Utility regulator 1Dataset 1Company 1State agency 1
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (11)
  • KPMG AUP covering a data file of 26 data center lease agreements as of June 1, 2026); Per-property schedules and addresses are not public, and no collateral property is address/APN-matched to this campus; Portfolio context
    “containing information on 26 data center lease agreements (the “Lease Agreements”) as of June 1, 2026 (the “Data File”), which we were informed are intended to be included as collateral in the offering by Compass Datacenters”
  • Collateral is Compass's stabilized campus portfolio; per-property schedules are not public, and no collateral property is address/APN-matched to this campus; Portfolio context only; no campus MW or value is stated or imp
    “Re: Compass Datacenter Issuer II, LLC, Secured Data Center Revenue Term Notes, Series 2024-1 – Data File Procedures”
  • KPMG agreed-upon-procedures exhibit filed Apr 20, 2021); Collateral is the sponsor's stabilized operating portfolio under a master trust; per-property schedules are not public, and no collateral property is address/APN-m
    “Re: Secured Data Center Revenue Term Notes, Series 2021-1 – Data File Procedures”
  • APS microgrid under negotiation through Dec 2023-Jan 2024: Compass and APS working on contractual language and design for a microgrid responding to capacity or frequency events on the APS grid; unresolved APS matters wer
    “The applicant and APS have been working on contractual language and design for a microgrid that may impact the design of the data center site.”
  • Site plan extension was driven by unresolved APS microgrid contractual language and design, which staff said may impact the final campus design
    “The applicant and APS have been working on contractual language and design for a microgrid that may impact the design of the data center site.”
  • The Compass Issuer III 2026-1 collateral buildings PHX1A through PHX1E (174.2 MW combined, built 2023-2025, per Moody's as reported by Data Center Dynamics) are five buildings of Compass's Phoenix I campus in Goodyear, A
    “Compass Datacenters is bringing eight data centers to Goodyear that at full build-out will be more than 1.8 million square feet”
  • Compass is a proven APS extra-large customer - but at GOODYEAR, not El Mirage: New Project Media's review of APS's FERC-filed largest-consumer lists (2022-2025) names 'Compass Datacenters' Goodyear campus (190 acres, 242
    “Compass Datacenters also features, with its DC campus located in Goodyear being one of APS’ 20 largest electricity consumers over the past three years”
  • County code: 04013
    “PHX II | Compass Datacenters | El Mirage, Maricopa Co. | 121 acres; 108 MW first phase; 350 MW plan | Site plan filed; status unclear”
  • Moody's provisional ratings reported by DataCenterDynamics) secured by six data centers: PHX1A, PHX1B, PHX1C, PHX1D and PHX1E in Phoenix, Arizona (174.2 MW combined, built 2023-2025) and YYZ II in Toronto, Ontario (24 MW
    “The assets comprise six newly developed, turnkey data centers located in Phoenix, Arizona, and Toronto, Ontario, with a combined capacity of approximately 198.2MW and approximately 819,000 square feet (76,088 sqm) of space.”
  • Compass Issuer III Series 2026-1 collateral is PHX1A, PHX1B, PHX1C, PHX1D and PHX1E in Phoenix, AZ (174.2 MW combined, built 2023-2025, 100% leased) plus YYZ II in Toronto (Moody's presale via press); Keys tested against
    “The assets comprise six newly developed, turnkey data centers located in Phoenix, Arizona, and Toronto, Ontario, with a combined capacity of approximately 198.2MW and approximately 819,000 square feet (76,088 sqm) of space.”
  • Queue MW 108 verified at press level only: 108 MW campus-stated = three buildings at 36 MW each, 208KSF each with about 170KSF of data halls (AZBEX project description); no MW figure appears in the retrieved city staff r
    “With 36MW planned for each building, the total project will have a data capacity of 108MW at buildout.”
Money and contracts (6)
  • Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 79302243 USD
    “Recorded: June 4, 2024 · Price: $79,302,243 · Grantor: DPML COPPERWING LANDCO II LLC · Grantee: COMPASS DATACENTERS PHX II I LLC · Parcel number: 501-45-980A · Address: 12500 W JOE R RAMIREZ RD · City: EL MIRAGE”
  • Dermody Properties (DPML Copperwing Land Co II LLC) sold the 121 acres at the SWC of El Mirage Road and Peoria Ave to Compass for $79.3M (Vizzda via DCD)
    “Dermody sold 121 acres on the southwest corner of El Mirage Road and Peoria Ave. to Dallas-based Compass for $79.3 million.”
  • Compass acquired 121 acres at El Mirage Road and Peoria Ave for $79.3M (Vizzda data via BizJournal)
    “Citing data from Vizzda, Dermody sold 121 acres on the southwest corner of El Mirage Road and Peoria Ave. to Dallas-based Compass for $79.3 million.”
  • Compass committed over $110,500 to fund a permanent shade structure at the Northwest Valley Family YMCA outdoor court; El Mirage City Council approved the contract with Shade N' Net on June 16 (2026)
    “The El Mirage City Council approved the contract with Shade N' Net on June 16, and construction is expected to be complete by the end of the year.”
  • Land transaction: Dermody Properties sold the 121-acre parcel to Compass for $79.3 million (reported June 2024)
    “Dermody sold 121 acres on the southwest corner of El Mirage Road and Peoria Ave. to Dallas-based Compass for $79.3 million.”
  • Compass closed on the 121-acre Copperwing parcel from Dermody for $79.3M, reported June 2024 - after the site plan approval and extension, consistent with construction starting later
    “Dermody sold 121 acres on the southwest corner of El Mirage Road and Peoria Ave. to Dallas-based Compass for $79.3 million.”
Permits and government (9)
  • APS filed its general rate case on June 13, 2025 (Docket E-01345A-25-0105). The : APS rate case - Extra High Load Factor schedule for large loads incl. data centers; hearing held, decision due by Dec. 31, 2026
    “Key topics argued during the Hearing include changes to APS's Extra High Load Factor (which applies to large load users, such as manufacturing companies and data centers)”
  • The live framework for Compass PHX II's APS service. APS's filing (Docket E-0134: APS general rate case PENDING as of Oct 19, 2026 - proposes a >45% increase for extra-large (data center) customers; hearings began May 18
    “Attorney General Kris Mayes today urged the Arizona Corporation Commission to swiftly and publicly investigate whether Arizona Public Service Company’s (APS) Power Supply Adjuster (PSA) has facilitated a nearly $600 million cost shift”
  • site plan extension: site plan extension requested; staff recommended approval; heard Jan 9, 2024 (vote outcome not in the packet - see searched)
    “The applicant is requesting an extension until all matters with Arizona Public Services (APS) are resolved. No changes to the site plan are being proposed with the extension request.”
  • El Mirage Planning and Zoning Commission:
    “The Planning and Zoning Commission may grant an extension. The applicant is requesting an extension until all matters with Arizona Public Services (APS) are resolved.”
  • site plan: site plan approved
    “The applicant is requesting the approval of a site plan extension to a site plan previously approved on February 9, 2023, by the El Mirage City Council.”
  • El Mirage City Council:
    “The applicant is requesting the approval of a site plan extension to a site plan previously approved on February 9, 2023, by the El Mirage City Council.”
  • No Certificate of Environmental Compatibility case names Compass Datacenters or : no CEC application filed for Compass PHX II facilities (status check)
    “Compass Datacenters is building three data center buildings on nearly 121 acres in El Mirage.”
  • Site plan review request submitted to the El Mirage Planning and Zoning Commission in February 2024; city had approved a site plan in 2023 per Arizona Republic sourcing [Merge note: per the City of El Mirage staff report
    “Proposals were submitted in a site plan review request to the El Mirage Planning and Zoning Commission in February 2024.”
  • Site plan approved by El Mirage in 2023 (press, citing city staff); proposals we: site plan approved
    “El Mirage approved a site plan for the build back in 2023”
Site and other (12)
  • Site location: Southwest corner of El Mirage Road and Peoria Avenue, El Mirage, AZ 85335
    “Project Address: 121 acres at the SWC of El Mirage Rd & Peoria Ave, El Mirage, AZ 85335”
  • Site acres: 121 acres
    “for 121 acres of vacant land located on the southwest corner of El Mirage Road and Peoria Avenue”
  • Operator: Compass Datacenters
    “Applicant/Owner: Compass Data Centers / DPML Copperwing Land Co II LLC”
  • Announced: Dec. 13, 2022
    “Thank you for the opportunity to provide comments on the Compass Data Center PHX II development.”
  • Project status: under construction
    “A data center campus is under construction in the West Valley.”
  • Project status: under construction
    “Compass Datacenters is building three data center buildings on nearly 121 acres in El Mirage. The campus will sit just north of City Hall.”
  • Expected opening: 2027
    “When will the work be done? It's expected to open in 2027, according to data center research firm Baxtel.”
  • Under construction as of June 2026 per Arizona Republic citing El Mirage staff details; three 208,000 sq ft buildings built in phases; opening expected 2027 per Baxtel via the same article
    “Compass Datacenters is building three data center buildings on nearly 121 acres in El Mirage.”
  • Campus under construction in June 2026 (three phased buildings just north of City Hall); opening expected 2027 per Baxtel
    “Compass Datacenters is building three data center buildings on nearly 121 acres in El Mirage. The campus will sit just north of City Hall.”
  • Buildings were being constructed in phases as of Jun 2026, per Arizona Republic reporting sourced to the city
    “The buildings were being constructed in phases.”
  • Site coordinates: 33.613036,-112.324392
    “Project Address: 121 acres at the SWC of El Mirage Rd & Peoria Ave, El Mirage, AZ 85335”
  • Building count: 3 buildings
    “Compass Datacenters is proposing a new data center development called Compass PHX II and consisting of three buildings of 208KSF each at the SWC of El Mirage Road and Peoria Avenue in El Mirage.”

Imagery and records: County deeds: ATTOM.