Data center profile · Sage Mill Industrial Park, Graniteville, Aiken County, South Carolina

Meta Aiken County Data Center

Meta's own 715,000 sq ft, $800M campus in Graniteville, South Carolina, on co-op grid power and a 100 MW solar deal, targeting 2027 (Epoch AI estimates 168 MW planned)

Approved; construction reported, not confirmed. Meta and state sources say the campus is being built, with a 2027 completion target. Epoch AI's claim that Building 1 is already running is a dataset estimate that Meta and state sources do not support.
168 MW
planned facility power
Epoch AI estimate; Meta has not published a megawatt figure
$800M
announced investment
Meta and the state, Aug. 2024
715,000 sq ft
campus size
550 acres purchased, two buildings planned (press)
100 MW
solar farm contracted for the campus
Orangeburg County; Meta gets the energy credits
OperatorMeta Platforms (owner-operator)
CustomerMeta (own use, no outside tenant)
Planned IT capacity134 MW at full build-out (our estimate from the company's 168 MW campus power figure)
First building in serviceOur estimate: 2027 (range 2027 to 2028); company says 2027.
Next deadline2027: Target completion of the campus (Meta)
Power

Power and the grid

Contracted, size not disclosed

Sources on record, size not disclosed
Related generation and energy contracts (context, not added to campus supply)

Getting on the grid

Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.

  1. Aug. 2024
    Santee Cooper starts the grid build
    A new 230 kV substation, two 230 kV lines and a 16-mile 115 kV rebuild, with construction from Aug. 2024 to late 2025. see Permits
  2. Aug. 19, 2025
    Solar deal announced
    Silicon Ranch builds a 100 MW farm; the co-op buys its output and Meta takes the credits. Price and term are not public. Company · Oct. 2026
  3. March 18, 2026
    Large-load rate adopted
    The wholesale co-op sets terms for customers of 20 MW or more: 15-year contracts, deposits, upgrade prepayment and ramp-down rules. Company · Oct. 2026
  4. 2027
    Target completion
    Meta's stated completion year for the campus. News report · Oct. 2026
Permits

Permits checklist

2 granted · 3 checked, nothing on file

What we found for this site. Building permits and water approvals are not in our sources.

Risks

What could slow it down

Money

Money on record

$800M
announced investment
Meta and the governor, Aug. 2024 State agency · Oct. 2026
$100M+
solar project capital (Silicon Ranch)
paid by the solar developer, not Meta Company · Oct. 2026
$828M
state sales tax exemptions for data centers, FY2025
all seven companies; Meta's share not published (press) News report · Oct. 2026
Land assembly

1 recorded land document for the campus company in county records (Dec. 2022); 1 lists a price. Parcel counts come from the deed; acreage is not recorded.

Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. Dec. 9, 2022
    Money Land purchase recorded at $19.3M: Wyatt Realty Investment Opp Fund LT to Starskey LLC (1 parcel) County deed records · Dec. 2022
  2. Aug. 2024
    Power Santee Cooper begins its transmission build for the campus Company · Oct. 2026
  3. Aug. 29, 2024
    Site Meta announces its first South Carolina data center in Aiken County, $800M Company · Oct. 2026
  4. July 21, 2025
    Site A crane accident at the construction site; no injuries reported (press) News report · Oct. 2026
  5. July 31, 2025
    Site Meta describes a mass-timber pilot building at the site Company · Oct. 2026
  6. Aug. 19, 2025
    Power Meta, Silicon Ranch and Central Electric announce a 100 MW solar farm Company · Oct. 2026
  7. Feb. 10, 2026
    Permits A state bill to require a utility commission certificate for data centers is introduced; it later dies in committee State agency · Oct. 2026
  8. March 18, 2026
    Power Central Electric adopts a large-load rate for customers of 20 MW or more Company · Oct. 2026
  9. March 30, 2026
    Site Meta testifies to the state Senate on the campus, water use and jobs (press) News report · Oct. 2026
  10. Aug. 7, 2026
    Site Epoch AI estimates 168 MW planned and says Building 1 is operating; Meta and state sources do not confirm
  11. 2027
    Site Meta's target completion year News report · Oct. 2026
The buildings

Specs

715,000 sq ft
campus size, LEED Gold targeted once operating
550 acres
land purchased, two buildings planned (press)
1,000+ workers
at peak construction; about 100 permanent jobs
Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Owner and operator
  • Meta Platforms: developer and owner
Power
  • Aiken Electric Cooperative: retail service
  • Central Electric Power Cooperative: wholesale supplier and author of the large-load rate
  • Santee Cooper: builds the transmission and balances the system
  • Silicon Ranch: 100 MW solar developer
Builders
  • DPR Construction: general contractor
  • Burns & McDonnell: transmission contractor
Local partners
  • Breezy Hill Water & Sewer: water service
  • Western SC Economic Development Partnership
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

119 records from 25 documents

Drawn from news reports, company statements, state agency records, local government records and public and commercial datasets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 12Company 7State agency 4Local government 2Dataset 2
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (13)
  • County code: Aiken County, SC (45003); Orangeburg County, SC (45075)
    “will partner with Columbia-based Central Electric Power Cooperative to build a 100-megawatt solar farm that will support Meta's first data center in South Carolina”
  • Utility retail: Aiken Electric Cooperative, Inc.
    “Aiken Electric Cooperative is proud to serve Meta, and we welcome them as a long-term partner to our community”
  • Utility wholesale: Central Electric Power Cooperative, Inc. (generation & transmission)
    “Central will purchase energy from the facility as part of its statewide power portfolio, benefiting all 19 of its member cooperatives”
  • Transmission owner: Santee Cooper, new 230-kV substation, two 230-kV lines, Aiken No. 3 substation expansion, 16 miles of 115-kV line rebuilt
    “The project for owner Santee Cooper includes building a new substation, expanding an existing substation, adding two 230-kV transmission lines, and rebuilding a 115-kV transmission line”
  • Power plan: grid
    “Aiken Electric Cooperative, one of those members, will serve the Meta facility”
  • IT capacity: not stated
    “This 715,000-square-foot campus will be part of our global infrastructure that helps bring our technologies and services to life”
  • Utility service: not stated
    “The new rate, which applies to large consumers that need 20 megawatts of electricity or more, includes the following protections”
  • On-site generation: not stated
    “Meta will work with Aiken Electric Cooperative to add new renewable energy to the grid”
  • Renewable match: 100% renewable energy match (announced commitment)
    “The data center's electricity use will be matched with 100% renewable energy, and Meta will work with local partners to add new renewables to the grid”
  • transmission construction: construction
    “The new 230-kV substation will be connected to the existing substation Aiken No. 3 with the two 230-kV transmission lines”
  • Central Electric Power Cooperative reports it currently provides power to one large data center, has reached deals with two more, and has fielded dozens of inquiries, the co-op-served South Carolina data-center pipeline
    “Central Electric Power Cooperative, a generation and transmission co-op based in Columbia, South Carolina, that currently provides power to one large data center, has reached deals with two more”
  • Utility retail: Aiken Electric Cooperative (retail service); Central Electric Power Cooperative (generation & transmission); Santee Cooper is the balancing authority
    “Aiken Electric Cooperative, one of those members, will serve the Meta facility — currently under construction in the Sage Mill Industrial Park near Graniteville.”
  • Regional economic development testimony reported Meta paid Aiken's cooperative 'north of nine figures' for equipment costs - a witness characterization in S.867 coverage, not a filed agreement
    “Meta, for example, paid Aiken Power Cooperative north of nine figures for equipment costs, Williams said.”
Money and contracts (33)
  • Tenants: Meta (own use)
    “will be home to our newest Meta owned and operated data center — our 22nd data center in the U.S. and 26th in the world”
  • Tenant status: Owner-occupied; no third-party tenant
    “Aiken County, South Carolina, will be home to our newest Meta owned and operated data center”
  • Capital cost announced: 800 USD million
    “the Aiken Data Center will represent an investment of more than $800 million and support approximately 100 jobs”
  • Jobs operational: 100 jobs
    “The $800 million investment will support 100 new operational jobs”
  • General contractor: DPR Construction
    “For construction information, please check the DPR Construction website”
  • electric service framework, large-load rate: scope 20 MW class threshold
    “The new rate, which applies to large consumers that need 20 megawatts of electricity or more, includes the following protections”
  • electric service framework, large-load rate: term 15-year minimum-term contracts
    “15-year minimum-term contracts with early termination penalties”
  • electric service framework, large-load rate: termination early termination penalties apply
    “15-year minimum-term contracts with early termination penalties”
  • electric service framework, large-load rate: condition prepayment for necessary electric infrastructure upgrades
    “Prepayment for necessary electric infrastructure upgrades”
  • electric service framework, large-load rate: condition cash deposits and other financial security requirements
    “Cash deposits and other financial security requirements”
  • electric service framework, large-load rate: demand minimum monthly energy demand minimums
    “Monthly energy demand minimums, which ensure sufficient revenues are generated to cover system costs”
  • electric service framework, large-load rate: curtailment ramp-down provisions during potential energy shortages
    “Provisions for ramping down electricity use during potential energy shortages”
  • electric service framework, large-load rate: scope rate protections already embedded in contracts for data centers under development in co-op territory
    “Three others are under development, and the contracts that govern those relationships already include the consumer protections outlined in the new rate”
  • renewable PPA, Orangeburg County solar: scope 100 MW solar farm, Orangeburg County SC
    “will partner with Columbia-based Central Electric Power Cooperative to build a 100-megawatt solar farm that will support Meta's first data center in South Carolina”
  • renewable PPA, Orangeburg County solar: ownership Silicon Ranch funds, builds, owns and operates the facility
    “As part of the agreement, Silicon Ranch will fund, build, own and operate the facility in coordination with the system balancing authority, Santee Cooper”
  • renewable PPA, Orangeburg County solar: delivery Central purchases the output into its statewide portfolio; Aiken Electric Cooperative serves the campus at retail
    “Central will purchase energy from the facility as part of its statewide power portfolio, benefiting all 19 of its member cooperatives”
  • renewable PPA, Orangeburg County solar: recs all renewable energy credits to Meta
    “In connection with its investment, Meta will receive all renewable energy credits associated with the facility energy”
  • renewable PPA, Orangeburg County solar: value 100 USD million (solar project capital investment, more than)
    “The solar project represents a capital investment of more than $100 million in Orangeburg County”
  • renewable PPA, Orangeburg County solar: term NOT DISCLOSED, no PPA term, price, termination or cancellation clause is public in any document opened (finding)
    “As part of the agreement, Silicon Ranch will fund, build, own and operate the facility in coordination with the system balancing authority, Santee Cooper”
  • project announcement commitments: scope 800 USD million announced investment; 100 operational jobs
    “Meta today announced it is establishing the company's first South Carolina operation with a new data center in Aiken County. The $800 million investment will support 100 new operational jobs”
  • project announcement commitments: condition electricity use matched with 100% renewable energy; LEED Gold certification once operational
    “The data center's electricity use will be matched with 100% renewable energy, and Meta will work with local partners to add new renewables to the grid”
  • transmission construction (EPC): scope new 230-kV substation; expansion of an existing substation; two 230-kV transmission lines; 115-kV line rebuild (16 miles)
    “The project for owner Santee Cooper includes building a new substation, expanding an existing substation, adding two 230-kV transmission lines, and rebuilding a 115-kV transmission line”
  • transmission construction (EPC): schedule construction began August 2024; expected complete late 2025
    “Construction began in August 2024 and is expected to be complete in late 2025”
  • Solar power agreement - Silicon Ranch / Central Electric (Orangeburg County): renewable supply / RECs to Meta 100 MW solar farm, Orangeburg County SC; >$100 million capital investment
    “Silicon Ranch will fund, build, own and operate the facility in coordination with the system balancing authority, Santee Cooper. Central will purchase energy from the facility as part of its statewide power portfolio”
  • Operational jobs: 100 jobs
    “The $800 million investment will support 100 new operational jobs.”
  • Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 19299555 USD
    “Recorded: Dec. 9, 2022 · Price: $19,299,555 · Grantor: WYATT REALTY INVESTMENT OPP FUND LT · Grantee: STARSKEY LLC · Parcel number: 047-00-01-012 · Address: BETTIS ACADEMY RD · City: GRANITEVILLE”
  • Cooling system: closed-loop liquid cooling; minimal operational water for cooling
    “Meta told the Senate Judiciary Committee its Aiken campus is an $800 million project using closed-loop liquid cooling that will require minimal operational water for cooling”
  • fee-in-lieu of taxes (FILOT) / development agreement: finding NOT LOCATED in the public record as of Oct. 18, 2026, no executed FILOT, inducement or development agreement naming Meta or the Sage Mill data center was found;
    “No ordinance, fee agreement or development agreement naming Meta or the Sage Mill data center was returned by web-indexed searches of Aiken County Council records on 2026-10-18”
  • South Carolina data centers received an estimated $828 million in state sales tax exemptions on equipment and electricity in FY2025 across seven companies, per state fiscal analysts; a Senate amendment to suspend the exe
    “For seven companies, those sales tax breaks provided by state law tallied an estimated $828 million for the fiscal year that ended last June, according to data from the state's fiscal analysts”
  • State data center sales tax exemption (statutory framework): sales tax exemption on electricity and equipment - qualification thresholds At least $50 million invested over five years and at least 25 full-time jobs; wages
    “To qualify for the breaks, a data center owner must invest at least $50 million over a five-year period and employ at least 25 full-time workers.”
  • Project status: shell - under construction; building rising, operational target spring 2027
    “Meta told the Senate Judiciary Committee its Aiken campus is an $800 million project using closed-loop liquid cooling”
  • Investment: 800000000 USD
    “Alicia Treanor, Metas public policy manager for infrastructure and energy, told the Senate Judiciary Committee that Metas Aiken data center in Sage Mill Industrial Park represents an $800 million investment”
  • Cooling: Closed-loop liquid cooling; minimal operational water for cooling (per Meta testimony)
    “its Aiken campus is an $800 million project using closed-loop liquid cooling that will require minimal operational water for cooling”
Permits and government (11)
  • PSC certificate of public convenience and necessity (data center operations): not required, no certification regime in force
    “S. 902 -- Senator Rankin: A BILL TO AMEND THE SOUTH CAROLINA CODE OF LAWS SO AS TO ENACT THE 'DATA CENTER SITING ACT'”
  • S.902, the Data Center Siting Act (Sen. Rankin), would have required a PSC certificate before a data center may begin operations in SC, plus water/operational efficiency standards, PSC oversight of utility–data center ag
    “BY ADDING SECTION 58-44-20 SO AS TO REQUIRE A CERTIFICATE ISSUED BY THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION BEFORE A DATA CENTER MAY BEGIN OPERATIONS IN SOUTH CAROLINA”
  • South Carolina Senate: S.902 (Data Center Siting Act, Sen. Rankin) introduced and read first time; referred to Committee on Judiciary
    “BY ADDING SECTION 58-44-20 SO AS TO REQUIRE A CERTIFICATE ISSUED BY THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION BEFORE A DATA CENTER MAY BEGIN OPERATIONS IN SOUTH CAROLINA”
  • air quality construction permit (backup generators): not located
    “Air Permitting — Issues construction and operating permits to industrial sources that use or store a material with a potential to emit air pollutants into the air”
  • land use / zoning: industrial development review completed
    “Williams said Meta went through the zoning process for industrial development as required in Aiken County”
  • S.867, the Data Center Development Act (Sen. Davis), would have created a Data Center Development Office in SC DES with tiered permitting by electrical load, annual water-use reporting and infrastructure cost-allocation
    “S. 867: Data Center Development Act - Status: Failed - Establishes the Data Center Development Office within the South Carolina Department of Environmental Services (SCDES)”
  • SC Senate Judiciary Subcommittee: S.902 (Data Center Siting Act) subcommittee hearing, Gressette Building Room 308
    “Hearing: Mar 17 in Gressette Room 308”
  • SC Senate Judiciary Committee: Meta testimony on data center legislation, Alicia Treanor, Meta public policy manager for infrastructure and energy, described the Aiken campus
    “Alicia Treanor, Metas public policy manager for infrastructure and energy, told the Senate Judiciary Committee that Metas Aiken data center in Sage Mill Industrial Park represents an $800 million investment”
  • SC Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Subcommittee: S.867 (Data Center Development Act) hearing, Western SC EDP president Will Williams testified on Aiken County projects including Meta
    “including a Meta site he said had purchased 550 acres”
  • legislative testimony (S.867 Data Center Development Act): Meta testified - no permit action
    “Alicia Treanor, Metas public policy manager for infrastructure and energy, told the Senate Judiciary Committee that Metas Aiken data center in Sage Mill Industrial Park represents an $800 million investment”
  • project announcement and groundbreaking: Groundbreaking ceremony held with Gov. McMaster attending
    “South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster attended a groundbreaking ceremony this week and is reportedly expected to be operational in spring 2027. DPR Construction is the project lead.”
Site and other (28)
  • Campus name: Meta Aiken County Data Center
    “Meta today announced it is establishing the company's first South Carolina operation with a new data center in Aiken County”
  • Developer: Meta Platforms, Inc. (owner-operator)
    “Aiken County, South Carolina, will be home to our newest Meta owned and operated data center”
  • Site: Sage Mill Industrial Park, Graniteville
    “the 715,000-square-foot data center, located in the Sage Mill Industrial Park in Aiken County, will be optimized for Meta's artificial intelligence (AI) workloads”
  • Campus area sq ft: 715000 sq ft
    “Once operational, the 715,000-square-foot data center, located in the Sage Mill Industrial Park in Aiken County”
  • Jobs construction peak: 1000+ workers
    “We anticipate that more than 1,000 construction workers will be onsite at the peak of construction”
  • Balancing authority: Santee Cooper (South Carolina Public Service Authority)
    “Silicon Ranch will fund, build, own and operate the facility in coordination with the system balancing authority, Santee Cooper”
  • Water provider: Breezy Hill Water & Sewer Co., Inc.
    “in 1991, the last increase in territory was completed by bringing the Sage Mill Industrial Park into the system's service area”
  • Leed target: LEED Gold certification (targeted at operation)
    “The campus will also achieve Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification once operational”
  • County code: 45003
    “Meta today announced it is establishing the company's first South Carolina operation with a new data center in Aiken County.”
  • Site location: Sage Mill Industrial Park, Graniteville, Aiken County, SC
    “the 715,000-square-foot data center, located in the Sage Mill Industrial Park in Aiken County, will be optimized for Meta's artificial intelligence (AI) workloads”
  • Building sq ft: 715000 sq ft
    “Once operational, the 715,000-square-foot data center, located in the Sage Mill Industrial Park in Aiken County”
  • First announced: Aug. 29, 2024
    “Aiken County, South Carolina, will be home to our newest Meta owned and operated data center”
  • Original target date: 2027
    “It is expected to be operational in spring 2027”
  • Address: Sage Mill Parkway, Graniteville, SC 29829 (Sage Mill Industrial Park)
    “Sage Mill Parkway, Graniteville, Aiken County, SC 29829”
  • Buildings planned: 2 buildings
    “Renderings suggest at least two data center buildings are planned”
  • Site acres: 550 acres
    “Will Williams, a regional economic development official, described local projects under construction in Aiken County, including a Meta site he said had purchased 550 acres”
  • Construction stage: building, data halls under construction; first mass-timber administrative building erected 2025; campus not yet commissioned
    “The Meta data center is under construction in the Sage Mill Industrial Park. Target completion is 2027”
  • Stage: building
    “The Meta data center is under construction in the Sage Mill Industrial Park. Target completion is 2027”
  • Current target date: 2027
    “The Meta data center is under construction in the Sage Mill Industrial Park. Target completion is 2027”
  • Water use testified: less than 30,000 gallons per day gallons/day
    “expects the facility to use less than 30,000 gallons per day and to be water neutral by 2030”
  • U.S. Rep. Nancy Mace called for a one-year moratorium on new data center construction in South Carolina, framing it as ratepayer protection. No moratorium was enacted; the call is federal-office advocacy, not a state act
    “Congresswoman Nancy Mace (R-SC) has called for a one-year moratorium on new data center construction in South Carolina”
  • Crane accident at the Aiken construction site; no injuries reported (trade press headline in DCD's Aiken County index).
    “Crane accident at Meta's planned South Carolina data center, no injuries”
  • Meta replaced its Data Center Community Action Grants with an open-call 'Future is for Everyone Fund' covering Aiken County (applications through Oct 19, 2026); more than a dozen Aiken County organizations received Meta
    “Meta is accepting applications for a new program to distribute grants in communities where the company has a data center, including Aiken County”
  • Meta's Future is for Everyone Fund opened applications in Aiken County (through Oct 19) replacing its Data Center Community Action grants, through which a dozen-plus Aiken County organizations received funds last year -
    “The Meta data center is under construction in the Sage Mill Industrial Park. Target completion is 2027.”
  • Local business coverage (Sep 28, 2026) still describes the site as under construction with target completion 2027; the governor's announcement targeted spring 2027 operations.
    “The Meta data center is under construction in the Sage Mill Industrial Park. Target completion is 2027.”
  • Construction workers peak: 1200 workers
    “employ 1,200 construction workers at peak and roughly 100 permanent staff when operational; Meta pledged to publish usage metrics after commissioning”
  • The campus administration building is being built primarily of mass timber (glulam) instead of concrete and steel - reported on site by Fast Company while the data halls use conventional construction
    “Instead of the concrete and steel used in the data halls and countless other data centers around the world, the facility's administration building is being made primarily of wood.”
  • Operator: Meta
    “We are excited to announce that Aiken County, South Carolina, will be home to Meta's newest data center - our 22nd data center in the US and 26th in the world”

Imagery and records: County deeds: ATTOM.