Power and the grid
Contracted, size not disclosed
- Dominion Energy South Carolina grid Rate approvedeconomic development rider rate; the amount of power is withheld as a trade secret News report · Feb. 2024
Getting on the grid
- Dominion is not disclosing how much electricity it will provide, calling it a protected trade secret (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- An industry data service says the first building will require 80 MW; the basis of that figure is not stated. Dataset · Dec. 2024
- Google's 600 MW solar deal with energyRe is a statewide supply agreement, not this campus's capacity. News report · Oct. 2025
- Google is a signatory to Dominion's large-load settlement adopted by state regulators in 2026; that docket is not specific to this site. Utility regulator · July 2026
Permits checklist
2 granted · 2 checked, nothing on file
Approvals on record. No county fee-in-lieu ordinance has been published.
- ✓Rezoning GrantedDorchester County Council · Feb. 2024: unanimous (press) News report · Feb. 2024
- ✓Economic development rider rate GrantedSouth Carolina Public Service Commission · Feb. 2024: docket number not in the sources News report · Feb. 2024
- –Checked, nothing on file: Fee-in-lieu-of-tax ordinance, State air permit
What could slow it down
- MediumRate and incentive criticismCritics target the discounted power rate, under half what homes pay, and the tax breaks (press). News report · Nov. 2024
- WatchOpaque termsNo fee-in-lieu ordinance has been published, and the power amount is a trade secret. see Permits
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- Jan. 28, 2021Paper trail Autumn Timber LLC registered in Delaware and South Carolina
- 2023Money County approves tax breaks, a water-service agreement and a land sale to seal the deal (press) News report · Dec. 2025
- Feb. 2024Permits County Council unanimously rezones the site News report · Feb. 2024
- Feb. 2024Power State regulators approve Dominion's discounted rider rate for the project News report · Feb. 2024
- Feb. 15, 2024Site Google is revealed as the company behind 'Project Dawson' after 18 months of secrecy News report · Feb. 2024
- Sept. 26, 2024Construction Groundbreaking with Gov. Henry McMaster; Google announces two Dorchester County campuses State agency · Sept. 2024
- Oct. 14, 2025Construction Both Dorchester campuses reported under construction News report · Oct. 2025
- July 6, 2026Power Google joins Dominion's large-load rate case as a settlement signatory Utility regulator · July 2026
Specs
~140 acres more land Google acquired nearby (press). News report · Feb. 2024
Owners, partners and builders
- Google: owner and operator
- Mallard LLC and Autumn Timber LLC: Google entities
- Turner Construction Company: general contractor
- Dorchester County Council
- South Carolina Public Service Commission
- Dorchester County Economic Development
- Dominion Energy South Carolina
Open questions
- Campus MW on a stated basis.
- Completion date.
- Final fee-in-lieu agreement terms.
44 records from 13 documents
Drawn from news reports, state agency records, public and commercial datasets, business registries and utility regulator dockets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (7)
- Utility: Dominion Energy South Carolina (DESC) - Google is a DESC customer developing data centers in DESC territory and a signatory to the DESC Large Load Stipulation (Order No. 2026-374)“Google, through its affiliates, is developing one or more data centers and related infrastructure in the service territory of Dominion Energy South Carolina ("DESC").”Utility regulator · July 2026 · grade A
- Utility: Dominion Energy South Carolina, under the PSC-approved economic development rider (see agreements/permit rows). Dorchester County sold the county-owned Pine Hill land to Google for $5.84 million - about half the“the county also agreed to sell the county-owned land at the Pine Hill location to Google for half of the price that was advertised on its website”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Google SC figures that are NOT Pine Hill campus figures: $2 billion = both Dorchester campuses combined; $3.3 billion = Dorchester + Berkeley; $9 billion = all South Carolina through 2027; a 600 MW solar PPA is a Google“The funding will support the expansion of Google's Berkeley County campus and continued development of two new data center campuses in Dorchester County, which broke ground in 2024 and are currently under construction.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- 600MW solar REC deal with energyRe is a South Carolina portfolio procurement, NOT Pine Hill campus capacity - explicitly excluded from campus facts MW“Earlier this year, in South Carolina, Google signed a 600MW solar PPA with EnergyRe, and a water sustainability agreement with Arable.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Google's 600 MW solar PPA with EnergyRe (signed 2025) is a South Carolina portfolio supply agreement announced alongside the Oct 13, 2025 $9 billion state investment plan; it is recorded here only as the guard.“Earlier this year, in South Carolina, Google signed a 600MW solar PPA with EnergyRe, and a water sustainability agreement with Arable.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Building size: 170600 sq ft“The 170,600-square-foot building will require 80 megawatts of power. General contractor Turner Construction Company (New York, New York) broke ground on the facility earlier this year”Dataset · Dec. 2024 · grade C
- Opposition targets the incentives and the discounted DESC rate (~6 cents/kWh, 'blessed by regulators', under half the residential rate); the amount of electricity DESC will provide is withheld as a trade secret; no lawsu“Google worked out a deal with Dominion Energy, blessed by regulators, to pay 6 cents per kilowatt hour for its power. That is less than half of what residential customers pay”News report · Nov. 2024 · grade C
Money and contracts (10)
- Project status: UNDER CONSTRUCTION - groundbreaking Sep 26, 2024 (attended by Gov. McMaster); building expected to wrap up by end of 2025 per the contractor report“11:00 AM: Gov. Henry McMaster attended the groundbreaking event by Google, Pine Hill Business Campus, 1055 Research Center Drive, Ridgeville, S.C.”State agency · Sept. 2024 · grade A
- 200 new operational jobs is the COMBINED figure for both Dorchester facilities (Pine Hill + Winding Woods), not Pine Hill alone“The new Dorchester County facilities, located in the Pine Hill Business Campus in Ridgeville and Winding Woods Commerce Park in St. George, represent a $2 billion investment and will create 200 new operational jobs.”State agency · Sept. 2024 · grade B
- land sale: county land price 5840000 USD“Furthermore, the county also agreed to sell the county-owned land at the Pine Hill location to Google for half of the price that was advertised on its website. The hot deal was sold to Google for $5.84 million”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- water service agreement: water service“the county approved a package of tax breaks, a water-service agreement and a real estate transaction to seal the deal.”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- fee in lieu of tax: assessment rate 4 percent“including a reduction in property taxes to a fixed rate of 4 percent of the assessed value of any land and buildings the company owns and occupies for up to 53 years.”News report · Nov. 2024 · grade C
- Pine Hill-specific investment reported at $510M (Post and Courier via DCD) - distinct from $2B combined Dorchester figure and $9B statewide figure; do not sum“the company aims to invest $510 million in the new campus – a 231-acre site along Research Center Drive and Highway 17A in Dorchester County's Pine Hill Business Campus”News report · Feb. 2024 · grade C
- Google recently acquired another ~140 acres in the Ridgeville area (in addition to Pine Hill site)“Google currently operates a South Carolina data center campus in Moncks Corner, around 20 miles east of Ridgeville. The company recently acquired another 140 acres in the area.”News report · Feb. 2024 · grade C
- Electric service rate arrangement: economic development rider rate“State utility regulators then approved the deal in February allowing Dominion to grant Google a special “economic development rider” rate — 6 cents for every kilowatt hour, compared to 14 cents that residential customers pay.”News report · Feb. 2024 · grade C
- Site acreage: 231 acres“The company plans to invest $510 million into a 231-acre site in Dorchester County's Pine Hill Business Campus.”News report · Feb. 2024 · grade C
- Investment: 510000000 USD“The company plans to invest $510 million into a 231-acre site in Dorchester County's Pine Hill Business Campus.”News report · Feb. 2024 · grade C
Permits and government (3)
- Generic large-load rate-case docket, NOT site-specific to Pine Hill; the stipula: Google granted intervention as a DESC customer / Large Load Stipulation signatory (Order No. 2026-150-H)“Google was a signatory, with DESC and other parties of record, to the Large Load Stipulation filed in the rate case of DESC (i.e., Docket No. 2025-325-E) and adopted by the Commission in Order No. 2026-374.”Utility regulator · July 2026 · grade A
- Month precision. The approval lets Dominion supply the data center at a special : PSC APPROVED Dominion Energy South Carolina's economic development rider rate for the Dorchester County (Project Dawson) data center, Febr“That deal, which the S.C. Public Service Commission approved in February, gives Google a special “economic development rider” rate of 6 cents for every kilowatt hour”News report · Feb. 2024 · grade C
- Dorchester County Council:“Dorchester County Council voted unanimously to rezone the land. According to the Post & Courier, just last fall "the county approved a package of tax breaks, a water-service agreement and a real estate transaction to seal the deal."”News report · Feb. 2024 · grade C
Site and other (4)
- Project status: under construction“continued development of two new data center campuses in Dorchester County, which broke ground in 2024 and are currently under construction”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Project identity: Google Pine Hill Campus ('Project Dawson'), 1055 Research Center Drive, Ridgeville, SC - Pine Hill Business Campus, Dorchester County; Google entities Mallard LLC / Autumn Timber LLC“The first campus spans 230 acres at 1055 Research Center Drive in Ridgeville, Dorchester County - some 20 miles (32.1km) west of its existing Berkeley campus.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- County code: 45035“The first campus spans 230 acres at 1055 Research Center Drive in Ridgeville, Dorchester County”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Developer: Google (Project Dawson; entities Mallard LLC / Autumn Timber LLC)“Google has revealed that it is behind what has been known as "Project Dawson" data center proposals after at least 18 months of secrecy.”News report · Feb. 2024 · grade C